—Enter: MintyBoost – The Portable, Battery-Powered, USB Charging Unit

July 19, 2012

Sometime last year I stumbled upon this great DIY project for the budding tinkerer. The MintyBoost: a portable AA battery-powered phone charger concealed within an unassuming Altoids tin.

Out and about I find myself always looking for some outlets to top up on juice, and most of the time this is a not-so-fun treasure hunt. I picked up a couple of these kits, made one for my girlfriend, and recently sat down to assemble the last  one for myself. It’s a really cool idea, and it’s especially handy now that I’ve made the switch to Android. Battery life is at a premium, no matter how aggressively you dial in power saving measures. It won’t give you a full charge, but at the very least it will give you enough juice for the ride home.

As you can see from the first image, my first attempt was a success. For my second kit, I wanted to do more. Either more batteries or some sort of solar-powered rechargeable set up. I went with the larger, more traditional, Altoids tin. Plenty of room for extras:

(craftsmanship is important to me)

I’ve got it assembled and working, now I just have to figure out how wire in more batteries. Then ultimately I want to add a solar cell to charge the batteries. So far so good.

Leave a Reply

